Snow Mountain of the Andes Pano 1, Chile

The Andes or Andean Mountains (Spanish: Cordillera de los Andes) are the longest continental mountain range in the world, forming a continuous highland along the western edge of South America. This range is about 7,000 km (4,300 mi) long, about 200 to 700 km (120 to 430 mi) wide (widest between 18° south and 20° south latitude), and of an average height of about 4,000 m (13,000 ft). The Andes extend from north to south through seven South American countries: Venezuela, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Bolivia, Chile and Argentina.

This picture is a composite of 12 shots.

Snow Mountain of the Andes, Chile, DSC04472

Viña del Mar, Chile

Viña del Mar meaning “Vineyard of the Sea”), is a city and commune on central Chile’s Pacific coast. Often referred to as “La Ciudad Jardín” (“The Garden City”), Viña del Mar is located within the Valparaíso Region, and it is Chile’s fourth largest city with a population of 324,836 (according to the 2012 census). Viña del Mar is also part of the Greater Valparaíso area, the country’s third largest metropolitan area, after the Metropolitan areas of Santiago and Concepción. The Greater Valparaíso Area is home to 5 municipalities: Valparaíso, Viña del Mar, Concon, Quilpue, and Villa Alemana. Click on the pictures.

The Graffiti City 1 Valparaiso, Chile

What a city?  Nicknamed “The Jewel of the Pacific”, Valparaíso was declared a world heritage site based upon its improvised urban design and unique architecture. In 1996, the World Monuments Fund declared Valparaíso’s unusual system of funicular lifts (steeply inclined carriages) one of the world’s 100 most endangered historical treasures. In 1998, grassroots activists convinced the Chilean government and local authorities to apply for UNESCO world heritage status for Valparaíso. Valparaíso was declared a World Heritage Site in 2003. Built upon dozens of steep hillsides overlooking the Pacific Ocean, Valparaíso has a labyrinth of streets and cobblestone alleyways, embodying a rich architectural and cultural legacy. Valparaíso is protected as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.  By clicking on the pictures, you may view them individually and in larger sizes.

Street view of the city of Valparaiso, Chile

Valparaiso is a major city, seaport, and educational center in the commune of Valparaíso, Chile. “Greater Valparaíso” is the second largest metropolitan area in the country. Valparaíso is located about 120 km northwest of Santiago by road and is one of the South Pacific’s most important seaports. Valparaíso is the capital of Chile’s third most populated administrative region and has been the headquarters for the Chilean National Congress since 1990.

View of Valparaiso, Chile,MG_0824-1

View of Valparaiso, Chile,MG_0824-2

View of Valparaiso, Chile,MG_0824-3

View of Valparaiso, Chile,MG_0824-4

View of Valparaiso, Chile,MG_0824-5

View of Valparaiso, Chile,MG_0824-6

Pano of the city of Santiago, Chile, MG_0622

Shots taken in 2017 while visiting Chile.  View is from Parque Metropolitano de Santiago also known as Plaza Gabriela Mistral, Chilean poet-diplomat, educator and humanist.

View of the city of Santiago, Chile,MG_0622

Santiago de Chile has the highest skyscraper in South America: the Gran Torre Costanera reached this condition when it surpassed the 300 metres height.

Pano of Santiage, Chile, MG_0647